Ride On The Verse

specgrade

What would cause a drummer to use the ride cymbal on the verse of a song? Isn't the norm to use the hi-hat to keep time during the verse and the ride during the chorus and guitar solos?

I have gotten used to the hi-hat during the guitar solos. I guess maybe I'm just a black and white drummer with no shades of gray.

The dynamics of using the ride during the verses are interesting to say the least.

"Indestructible" by Disturbed comes to mind here.

Your thoughts please...

What would cause a drummer to use the ride cymbal on the verse of a song? Isn't the norm to use the hi-hat to keep time during the verse and the ride during the chorus and guitar solos?

I have gotten used to the hi-hat during the guitar solos. I guess maybe I'm just a black and white drummer with no shades of gray.

Dave Grohl did that a bit with Nirvana. If it works, it's fine.

But drumming... music... life... has many shades of gray. And colors. And textures. And layers. Things are rarely just either or.

Bermuda

Maybe its me but I think Ringo was one of the early users of the hihat for riding. I'm old also and have used the ride as much as the hats. You don't have ride loudly. Jazz comes to mind.

Hats give you clean, crisp rhythms while rides states the pulse less obviously and adds colour.

A lot of it depends on what your bandmates are doing. Generally, everyone is laying back more during verses because the vocalist is telling the bulk of the story, usually with lower and quieter tones. So we have to stay out of the way - unless the lyrics are embarrassingly bad, in which case it might be better to mask them :)

By riding closed hats in verses we leave more space, which is appreciated by other players who are already laying back. Rides are nice when you want an ethereal mood. In the 60s the drums were lower in the mix and the drums could play more busily without creating havoc, eg. Mitch with Jimi, Moonie with The Who ... or at least it was good havoc :)