What do I buy and do?

lrod1707

Hello all,
My post has 2 parts that I need help with. I would love to hear some opinions. I have been away from drumming for 10 years and now I am ready to start playing again. I have been playing for about 35 years. Here are my 2 issues:

1. I just bought a single family house. Drums will be on the second floor. The houses are pretty close to each other. My issue is, I don't want to piss of my new neighbors. Noise inside my house doesn't matter. The issue would just be the neighbors. I don't know if to go the electronic route or acoustic route with some muting. I have always played acoustic so I would feel weird playing electronic. If I go electronic, I have chosen the Roland TD-17. If I go Acoustic, it would be a set with Remo Silent strokes heads and Evans cymbal mutes or low noise cymbals. My question is, would an acoustic set with that setup be quiet enough to not disturb the neighbors?

2. If I go acoustic, what do I buy? I used to play Pearl years ago but have been doing a ton of research and I don't seem to like the sound of the new drums they have. From everything I have heard, Ludwigs seem to sound the best. By the way, I know that with Silent strokes the tone is pretty much gone. But whenever I can, I would play with regular heads. I would choose from these 3 sets: Ludwig Evolution Maple, Pearl Decade Maple or Gretsch Catalina Maple. The Ludwigs sound best to me then the Gretsch and last are the Pearls. But maybe you guys can persuade me one way or another. I heard everything else: Tama, Mapex, Yamaha etc.. Didn't like any of them! Construction of the Ludwigs seems solid as well. I will also be buying all hardware and cymbals (Sabian) etc.. Let me know what you think!
Thanks

Since you've been playing for 35 years already, I'm not gonna recommend what brand of acoustic kit you should buy. You oughta' know by now, I say - and not much has changed in ten years anyway ;)