Beat displacement, dotted notes and Gavin Harrison's Rhythmic Illusions

Hi all, hope you guys are doing good.

First off im COMPLETELY new to the concept of beat displacement and i intend to start off the book Rhythmic Illusions by Gavin Harrison.
Please bare with me as im going to be asking ALOT of questions here in order clear my concepts (i tried searching but couldnt find anything that clears things up)

So, first things first, what iv learnt the dotted note is (correct me on this one as well if im wrong) that it results in the EXTENSION of time of the next note played by half the note value. So say, if we had a 1 & (bass drum at 1 and &) and a dotted note after te first bass drum hit, then the second bass drum (at &) would be stretched by half the note value and be played at 'a'. So it would be 1 (e) (&) a. Bass drum bbeing hit at 1 and a.
This i my understanding of the dotted note.

Coming towards beat displacement and its relation to the dotted note, what i get (high chance that im wrong here) is that the dotted note works as a loop provider, means it helps to diplace the bass drum hit right after it; so everytime a loop is repeated the bass drum after the dotted note is displaced by a certain amount as the time for the bass drum keeps expandiing with each loop or each bar. Is that right?

OR is the bass drum only displaced once OR is the bass drum displaced twice or i dont knw how many times...

And lik i said before while understanding this concept clearly please bare as it is a bit confusing so far... But i love te way it sounds when i hear people like gavin harrison play it. ...
P.S. please pardon any typos as im on my cell right now. Thanks

In music theory, if you put a dot on a note, it extends the value of that note by 50% of itself.

So a dotted crotchet beat (or quarter note) will be counted as 1.5 beats.
Or a dotted quaver (or 8th note) will be worth 3 16th notes (or .75 of a beat)