Studio build help/info

Toolate

Platinum Member
I am a building contractor and wanna be drummer and a friend of mine may be looking to build a new studio on his property. Separate building dedicated to full band recording/jamming/practice etc. so its a blank slate (!!!) and I may end up as the designer. Band will be rock/country and is usually 2 singers, guitar, bass, drummer, keys and occasionally an additional singer and guitar player.

So I have a ton of info and ideas but thought I would ask if anyone has any relevant info be it pictures, links, videos of great studios, experiences in good studios that you really liked or just general ideas about what to include and what not to do as I have never recorded in an actual studio- just walked through a few sadly...

Any info would be welcome because its the little things that make all the difference in the way a space feels and sounds but I find those can be the most important details.

Heres a list of possible ideas/topics to comment on:
1. overall dimensions/spaces for each musician/drum/vocals booths needed?
2. wall coverings (% of walls covered and with what) and acoustics/ flat ceiling or cathedral
3. power requirements and mixing board size/location/gear suggestions
4. floor covering
5. access to the space for load in and out
6. anything goes!

Hoping to not turn this into a debate/discussion on sound proofing since that wont be a requirement and I have done enough home theaters etc. to feel reasonably confident about the construction side of things.

This is open ended but I am hoping to start some interesting discussion or at least see some great pics of studios you have played in and hear the good and bad. Promise to post pics if this comes to fruition!