Keep cracking cymbals?

rchess5

I keep cracking my cymbals! They are not the best cymbals out there which would probably have a lot to do with it. They are Zildjian ZHT's and Zildjian ZXT's (You know, the titanium coated ones that sound like shit?) I bought my kit used and I have no idea how the guy before me played with them. When I first got them, there wasn't much wrong with them. They had scratch marks all over, but thats about it. I have my cymbals all pretty loose, so they arent cracking from the tightness. I have them tilted towards me just a tiny bit, but for the most part, flat. I hit decently hard. If anyone could give me the answer to why they are cracking, that'd be awesome!

Thanks

Here are a few common causes:

Cymbals could be getting struck too much on the edge which means they are still too flat.

Technique, could be driving the stick through the cymbal instead of releasing on impact.

Striking the cymbal too hard in the attempt of achieving louder volumes past the cymbal's sonic capability.

Q.

Do any of your drum heads have dents in them? If they do, then technique is the main culprit.

I hit decently hard.

Thanks

Probably more 'indecently' hard. Cymbal cracking is usually a combination of poor height/positioning and incorrect hitting technique. Have the cymbal at a height where you can come down and through the cymbal. Don't have the cymbal at a flat enough angle where the stick is jarring into the cymbal. Watch to see if your wrist is in a dropped position as you play the stroke. If it is, lift it.

Only use cymbals suitable to the style you are required to play. If the cymbal is struggling to project, you may need to to change it. That said the ZHTs are entry level so I guess there's more of a chance of breakage whatever you do.