I know no religious discussion, but any other church drummers in here?

PorkPieGuy

Platinum Member
I know about the rules of no religious discussion, but I'm curious to see if there are any other church drummers in here.

Thanks!

Ive been playing at my church for 15 years. I went years playing there 3 days a week. I still play all but one Sunday a month. We got a new pastor a couple of years ago and I don't really like him as a person. He's kinda rude and overly demanding of the all volunteer staff. I've been thinking about moving to a different church, but Ive been playing there for so long with mostly the same people that part of the sound there is my sound. I would hate to give that up.

Been playing church gigs ever since I picked up sticks. I don't play so much at my home church however. Being Mennonite and all we only pull out a band for special occasions. I do get called a lot to fill in at other area churches though, and when I'm on campus at school I play in about 6 different area churches depending on who needs me what week.

Been playing steady church gigs since 2007 when I picked up the sticks again. Some worship leaders I thoroughly enjoyed working with and were into collaboration, teamwork and improvisation and made things fun and interesting. Others not so much because I've found most of the young ones egotistical, arrogant, and inexperienced and a "my way or the highway" attitude.

Church is a place for worship; worshiping God and connecting to the spiritual side of ourselves. At church we share spiritual experiences with other people.
Music is a very powerful form of spiritual communication. That is why it is used in some form or another in most, if not all, church services.

My drum playing is a God given ability and not just something that I created on my own. When I play the drums I’m having a spiritual experience. When I play in a band, any band, I am worshipping along with other musicians. It does not matter where we are playing.