Your 1st drumset?what and when?

braincramp

Gold Member
I searched but couldn't find anything on this. Theres a post now about some Stewart drums and I see alot of members recalling thier first set so figured I'd start a thread here about our first drumset.
My 1st set in 1974 was a Whitehall 4 piece. I believe they were made by Pearl. It was kind of a light brownish osyter shell type wrap...lasted a couple years then got my 1st pro set of Slingerlands in '76

The first kit I bought with my own coin was a '90 model Pearl Export.

The first kit I started playing on was the old man's spare kit. It was an early to mid '60's Premier in a blue mother of pearl wrap. Back then, I thought it was dink 'cos it was "old" and "only had two toms"........or something equally as stupid. Man, what a tosser!! For some strange reason I always loved his Luddies in the same config, though.

Thank christ I've learned a trick or two since then.

1980 Rogers XP8 5-piece.
12/13/16/22
14" Dynasonic

14" Zildjian New Beats
17" Zildjian Med Thin crash
19" Zildjian Med Thin Crash
21" Zildjian Rock Ride

a few months later I found a brand-new matching 18" floor tom ,in a pawn shop, for $75.

Ha ha, Blue sparkle Remo drums with a Zim gar snare!!!!!! As I remember they sounded awful

prob most of you (perhaps all) never heard of this brand
its is a hybrid 6 ply lazer drum
im still rolling with this, looking forward to buy a new kit (hopefully craviotto) soon

Two more votes here for Rogers.

The first kit I got to use was a 67 Rogers Holiday 4 piece.

The first kit I bought, five years after I started playing...

1977 Rogers 24, 13, 14, 15, 18. With Dynasonic 5x14.

I bought these in 1979 when I was 19. My own money.
2375624370028342110S600x600Q85.jpg

So, I am 50, and here they are.......24, 13, 16, 18. I still have that COB Dynasonic snare drum, and a few others.

2891419680028342110S600x600Q85.jpg

Last edited: