Why should I share my drums?

Stoney

It seems like us drummers get the raw deal here when it comes to sharing our equipment. Granted we generally take up the largest stage space but I'm quite happy to tear down or set up my kit whenever! It's only down to engineers or fellow drummers laziness that there should ever be a reason to share equipment. At the end of the day though it should be my decision and a decision I should not have to feel guilty about!
I always take my kit to gigs unless it's been pre-arranged and then I'll just take my breakables. Just common sense in my book. I remember one guy who turned up with just a pair of sticks! After pleading with me to use my kit (and failing) he then turned up 30mins later with his full kit. Why he didn't in the first place I'll never no. Just laziness I guess.
I say all this because I've had some pretty bad experiences of kit sharing in the past. Whether it be lost cymbal washers, hi-hat clutches, broken heads or toms set up too low that they're scraping off the bass drum finish (not what you want when you've got a brand new set)! Not to mention re-tuning! Arrrrrgh......
Obviously this only applies to smaller club gigs and for this I'm even considering buying a set of beat up crappy drums that I don't mind sharing but then again why should I have to compromise my sound to please others and make their lives easier?
What are your views on this? I never see a guitarist sharing his Les Paul. My kit is my pride and joy too.....and I, it seems is the only person capable of looking after it.

I don't think it's just drummers. With regards to the les paul example, yeah i don't think a guitar player would share their guitar but a lot of the time you see bands sharing amps. A lot of bands doing support gigs and that do share their "backline" stuff.