Frustrated with practicing

isawstars

I seriously have no idea what to do when it comes to practicing!

I take lessons 2 to 4 times a month (depends on how much cash I have). I will learn techniques, rudiments and sometimes a new groove for HH or BD independence. I go home practice new rudiments then run through old rudiments, new groove, then free style, then I'm done... all in 30-45 minutes. Super short, right?

I've been playing for 10 months now and I dont' think I'm doing enough. I know I have high standards because I watch and listen to great drummers all the time but, I know I can do more and I don't know what is missing. I also want to know how to gain the creativity to do fills and such. Ugh. I feel like for someone who's been playing for almost a year... i'm not up to par.

Relax,
The feelings that you have are normal.
Drumming is a lifetime achievement.
OK, so you spend 45 mins a day at practice.
You learn the concepts of what you have been taught.

Are you playing with other musicians yet?
Start playing with others and you will begin to apply what you have learned.

You'll see, When you start playing with others it will all start to kick in.
You will then feel better about yourself and your drumming.

i went to a benny greb clinic last week and he had fantastic advice about practicing. he suggested to keep a log/journal/record about your practice sessions.
write down what you practiced, at what speed, for how long and how you felt afterwards. if you do this, you can track your progress as you go along, which motivates b/c you can quantify your improvement.
also, recording your sessions on a video camera helps too, not only for the same reasons as the journal, but also so you can see if there's anything you can improve that you haven't noticed before, like tensing up, bad posture, etc.
don't give up and don't make practicing a chore. practicing in itself is an art and should be fun too.
good luck!
i have to hit the practice pad now...