How to improve?

Justkiller91

Hey there, im new on drummerworld ive been playing for about 5 years now and i have a question i need answered.

The thing is i started playing when i was 10 years old started off with a good 2 years of lessons. I found out that when at these lessons i wasn't actually learning anything at all after about 3-5 months of the same basics i stopped taking lessons. I just gave up on myself and didn't touch my kit for a good year then i came back to playing. Ive tried all sorts of things in the past year trying to improve my drumming but all i seem to be able to do is fall into that same stupid plain beat i played back when i was taking lessons. Its like im stuck in a rut of some sort and i need help getting out. So im asking you all this, What can i do to get out of the rut and improve.

go back to the learning part, learn to transcript and hand order and then start listening to music and try to do what the drumer is doing.
aspecially go back to your teacher.

Whether drumming or anything else,you have to stop what you are doing ,take inventory of where you are deficient and determine what needs changing. I would advise you to face your biggest fear,conquer your largest enemy,tackle the biggest problem first, like David and Goliath. This could be learning to read rythmic notation,working on independence,slowly building speed,etc. Commit yourself to the process,routinely work on it,and don't set a time frame . Keep chipping away at it and the largest sequoia will fall.
I began learning to read Hebrew at 54 , and 4.5 years later am able to do it (on some level) so in theory no dog is too old-no trick too new.