The foot is the key to groove

cantstoplt021

Well at least one the most important components. I'm sure this isn't news to you experienced drummers, but someone playing the most basic groove on the high hat and snare can make something groove endlessly with just his right foot. As a beginner drummer I've noticed this first hand with J.J. Johnson of Tedeschi Trucks and Alan Evans of soulive. The right foot is key

True. How the foot placement falls into the beat determines the groove. Of course so do the hands. Consider the slightly laid back snare hits on 2&4 of West Coast studio drummers VS East Cost. It's a noticeable difference musically. JR Robinson preaches this concept.

Good subject to discuss!

Bass drum placement is something I tend to go on about a lot, & it's often the first thing I latch on to. Of course, groove is all the elements working together, but bass drum stimulates that primeval response in all of us. It always was the way of delivering a message, & it still is.

Something interesting happened to me a few weeks ago. I was playing at an open mic jam. A guitar player/singer told the guy who was running the jam that he wanted me to be his drummer for the set he was about to play. The guitar player/singer told me that I had a very solid bass drum groove, one of the best he had ever heard.

I never thought about this before. I have never given a thought to what I play on the bass drum, it is just automatic for me. After this happened I started listening to my bass drum playing.

I realized that when I first learned to play the drums I was taught that the bass drum was the foundation of drum playing. I’m sure this is an old school way of thinking. And this has limited me in my ability to easily learn various independent rhythms.
However, on the positive side it has helped me become a solid rhythm keeper.