What is your go to tempo?

Merlin5

Gold Member
I was sitting down to practise, opened liveBPM on my phone and just started playing a straight hi-hat, snare and kick groove. I noticed the tempo was 107 and remained there. Stopped and started a few times with tea drinking breaks in between. Each time I started playing a groove, my mind told me to play a little slower because it would feel laid back, or other times to notch it up to something brighter and a bit more uptempo. So sometimes it would be 102bpm and remain there, sometimes 105 and remain there, and sometimes I felt like playing a bit brighter tempo and it was 114bpm. I remember a drummer saying to me years ago that most drummers like playing around 95bpm. I dunno, I guess it depends on your energy levels that day. But my tempo range that I feel most 'groovy' at for want of a better description, seems to be anything between 102 to 114bpm. 102bpm came up the most times though. What is yours?

95 bpm? That seems a bit slow to me. It will be interesting to see what others say. I think when if I just hop on a kit and just start playing, it ends up being probably closer to 120 bpm.

Some of it probably has a lot to do with what type of music a person usually plays and listens to.