DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 06-11-2010, 03:50 PM

Default Musicality Dilemma

I'm on the worship team at my church and I'm one of six or seven drummers there. To my knowledge, all of us are self-taught and the skill levels vary greatly. Lately, it's become apparent that we have some people who are OK at keeping time and basic rhythms but they're not so great at being a "musician". They can't seem to play musically. Song structure is a foreign concept. Dynamics are too. Understanding how the pieces of a song connect and relate to each other is confusing. If the songs chosen to be used for a given weekend are changed in any way from the way our practice tracks are recorded, they're at a loss for how to handle that situation and it completely throws them off of their game.

For me, music comes naturally. I understand it. I FEEL it. It moves me. It's a part of me to my very core. Because of this, I have trouble relating to their situation and confusion since I've never encountered it, at least not to the level that these folks do. I've evolved into a position of leadership and mentoring yet I don't know how to help with this situation. I've never been taught these concepts; they've just always been a part of who I am.

How do you teach these things? I've found some videos on the internet (YouTube, VicFirth, etc.) trying to explain them and demonstrating the concepts, but I'm not sure they helped much.

Any ideas?
Old 06-11-2010, 04:37 PM
Silver Member

Default Re: Musicality Dilemma

Just ask Jesus, he shall guide you.

Last edited by ANIMALBEATS; 06-11-2010 at 04:52 PM.
Old 06-11-2010, 04:45 PM