DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 02-26-2014, 01:37 AM

Default Drum micing for newbies

Hey guys. I want to mic my drums. Being a fairly new drummer should I spend money on 6 mics or just do the 4 micing idea being that im a newbie. I was looking at getting the Shure PGDMK6-XLR mic package and a TASCAM US-1800 USB 2.0 Audio/Midi Interface. But since I am new to playing the drums I was wondering if im getting way ahead of myself here. Thanx.
Old 02-26-2014, 02:09 AM
Pioneer Member

Default Re: Drum micing for newbies

Guess the question is what are you wanting the end result to be? Recording yourself, posting video's to youtube?

You can get by with three mics,bass and two overhead condensers to get started, or even one room mic just to get your feet wet.
Old 02-26-2014, 02:31 AM
Platinum Member

I think you're getting ahead of yourself. Spend time learning how to play first, otherwise, you'll know how to record some of your worst playing, ever.

I would get a flash audio recorder, or a flash video recorder if you want to see yourself too. I have a Tascam DR-05 for audio recordings, and also a Zoom Q3hd flash video recorder, and both work pretty good and sound good due to the good stereo mics. You can always take those files and dump them to your computer from there too.

Mics and interfaces, that's alot to bite off and chew on while you're learning how to play. I'd concentrate on playing.
Old 02-26-2014, 03:29 AM
Platinum Member