Alan Dawson further advice?

Caz

Hey all, was anyone here lucky enough to get one-on-one tuition with Alan Dawson? The book by John Ramsay has helped me to focus my practice time enormously - but I've been working through it religiously for over a year and wondered if there are any more ideas/philosophies that Alan might have taught people which can be worked on alongside the material in the book.

If anyone's based in London and available to give me one or two private lessons please PM. Otherwise, if you don't mind sharing with the masses, I'm sure there are many people on here who are hugely inspired by Dawson who'd love to hear more from what he had to say.

Thanks, Caz.

...i'll chime in since no one seems to be responding... i studied with one of alan's students, i don't have first hand knowledge...

1. the methods in the book are only a SAMPLING of alan's teaching. alan's method was all about taking the 8 exercises in the back of syncopation and applying them in different ways. be creative. the exercises reflect the phrasing in jazz melodies and are meant to be heard and understood this way. the exercises can and should be applied to jazz melodies. (long/short etc.) take any jazz tune... straight no chaser, a charlie parker tune etc. and apply the exercises. create your own exercises. alan dawson's method was more about creating exercises to fit melodies than about the exercises themselves. keyword create.

2. improvise, innovate and be creative with the material. be aware that mr. dawson's method, book, students and students of students are coming out of berklee college of music factory style... mr. dawson himself emphasized the importance of being creative with the material. you'll make more money and a greater contribution to the evolution of the human race flipping burgers than you will playing the material "by the book." in other words... make it your own... create your own exercises... have faith in yourself and work hard.

that's all i know
good luck