What amp or system for octapad?

412drummer

I am looking to buy an amp or amplifier system for my octapad. I would like it be able to cut through a band. I would probably look used to get better gear cheaper but new is always an option too. It would primarily be used for effects and a few parts only but I still like it to be able to cut for practicing with the band. Looking for a few suggestions that it all can be new or used and older models are fine too but preferably ones I can still find for purchase somewhere. Thanks.

I have some experience with this. I have the octapad and SX. I quickly found out that amplification was way more important than I thought. First I borrowed a friends peavy keyboard amp. I don't remember the model name, but it didn't work out. It just didn't have any thump. Then borrowed a friends swr workingmans bass amp. This was much better, when playing by myself, but when in a full band situation, I still couldn't hear it. Then I tried in ears. I bought a set of Shure se215's. In ears won't work unless you mic all the drums and cymbals, and all other instruments.(side note.. I play acoustics with triggers on my kick and snare. I now use a qsc k10 and I'm extremely happy with it. This is a bit on the pricey side, but it works and is crystal clear. If you're going to run loops and sound effects live, there's nothing worse then not being able to hear yourself.

That seems like a realy nice speaker but I would defiantly have to get it used. What do you think of the cheaper mackie powered speakers or qcs ones in the $300-$400 range?