Recording my Drums as a means of developing my sound

ryanlikealion

Hello all

My goals is to get to a level where I can record a strong demo of my drums and just to learn the basics of recording. Step 1 is to invest in some equipment to get me started.

I am going to invest in some half decent drum mics which is a seperate issue (akg d112, Sm 57, 2X Akg c1000's.)

I don't want to go mad with technology but I want to enjoy learning the art of recording. A bonus would be to have a set up which is reasonably mobile so that i can experiment in different rooms.

The amount of info on the web is great but totally overwhelming here are a few questions:

Is this desk any good as a starter?

http://www.zzounds.com/item--ALEMM8USB20

At this stage I have pc laptop. But I haven't closed off the option of changing to MAC what are your thoughts on this?

Here's a tip you might not have thought of. I've been recording myself for the past 9 months or so using a ZOOM H4n digital recorder, which has two built-in condenser mics in an X-Y pattern, along with two XLR inputs which allows me to add a snare mic (SM 57) and kick mic (Beta 52) for 4-channel recording. I set up the ZOOM on a mic boom centered high above my kit with the condensers pointing straight down, then feed the kick and snare mics directly into it. After recording a part, I import those tracks into GarageBand for editing. The kick and snare channels import as a single stereo track, but it's not too much of a hassle to separate them into two mono tracks, then the rest is just mixing. And the best part is you can get into this setup for relatively cheap (for example, the ZOOM was about $300 new). Actually, I take that back. The BEST part is that it's simple, cheap and mobile, with pretty decent results.