Ambassador X For me!

Coldhardsteel

Gold Member
Alright, I sold a couple of cymbals(crummy Zil's, urgh) on consignment and I got the check for the first one, ended up with $50.25 to spend.

I found out how much Musiciansfriend was selling Ambassador X's and I will be outifitting my 16" and 12" tom with new batters as soon as I can after getting home from vacation. I can't wait to see how they sound on my drums after living with God-nows-how-old pinstripes on them.

Now, just in case I'm making the wrong decision, try and advise me otherwise towards better heads. Let's make it a challenge, for fun, try and change my brand loyalty. :p

i thought amb x's were for snares? bu ti guess you can use them on toms, i've never used them before, but i almost bought one

I thought that they were for snares as well, maybe the expanded them. Who knows.

Ambassador X was expanded to tom sizes to compete directly with the Evans G-plus, the other 12 mil head. Similarly, it seems Evans has added white coated versions to the G-Plus line, most likely to appeal to anyone that might choose Ambassador X just because of the white coated vs. frost coated issue.

Ambassador X was expanded to tom sizes to compete directly with the Evans G-plus, the other 12 mil head. Similarly, it seems Evans has added white coated versions to the G-Plus line, most likely to appeal to anyone that might choose Ambassador X just because of the white coated vs. frost coated issue.

Thanks for that heads-up. Despite Evans' claims that the white and frosty coatings are identical except for the pigment, I've always hated the sound of that frosty coating--very plasticky. Perhaps Evans has discovered that they sound different, too.

Now Remo should offer the Ambassador X in clear, and all will be right with the world. ;-)

I have them on my Oak Customs and they sound great to me.

I thought that they were for snares as well, maybe the expanded them. Who knows.