First Rehearsal Jitters

EarthRocker

So I've been playing drumss for more than ten years, and while I don't consider myself a great drummer, I think I can hold my own, and certainly do well given the right sort of music. But every time I go to audition, or jam with someone for the first time, I always get the jitters. I think it's more or less social anxiety than it is actually worrying about my abilities being criticized. I mean, after the first rehearsal I always feel fine, but before I meet up with whoever I'm supposed to be playing with, I practically have to force myself to go through with it. Anybody else deal with this?

I used to have bad stage fright. now I tell myself those feelings are excitement instead of fear. I love playing live now.

So I've been playing drumss for more than ten years, and while I don't consider myself a great drummer, I think I can hold my own, and certainly do well given the right sort of music. But every time I go to audition, or jam with someone for the first time, I always get the jitters. I think it's more or less social anxiety than it is actually worrying about my abilities being criticized. I mean, after the first rehearsal I always feel fine, but before I meet up with whoever I'm supposed to be playing with, I practically have to force myself to go through with it. Anybody else deal with this?

Tell them to learn something off of Elephant Riders ahead of time and rock the ever-loving **** out of it. Then you can get down to biz. A good first tune can really set the tone of the evening.

The more something means to you the more stress your body will revert into if "failure" is in your head.

I remember my first auditions. Failed. Long time ago.

I believe when a musician finds their "voice" they can speak freely and not be nervous.