Why switch from Drum to Guitar??

sina

Hi Folks,

I've been practicing Drum since 6 month ago. I'm good at it and feel some improvement as well. However I like Guitar sound as well and most of the music I listing to is about great guitarists like Jeff Beck, Eric Clapton and son on.

These days I feel I'm losing my enthusiasm to Drum witch I don't know exactly why and I feel would be better I switch to Electric guitar and practice Rock, or Blues or whatever.

If you ever had this feeling that for any reason you wanted to leave your instrument and play other one and focus on another instrument let me know your experience.
It may helps me to keep going on the same track or really rethink and change my instrument.

Thank you all my musician friends

Hello and great topic!
I recently started playing bass guitar and Man, what an eye opener! I am such a better drummer for it. I'm not sure as to my own future as a drummer lays(sudden tinnitus) but I know that I could always find another instrument if I needed too.

I switched from drums to guitar about 5 years ago, but not because I had this burning desire to ditch drums and take up guitar.

I basically had to stop playing drums due to logistical and time constraints. But, being a musician, I had to have some sort of creative outlet. So I picked up guitar and actually made a decent blues guitarist out of myself in those few short years. But when the opportunity to get back behind a kit presented itself, I jumped at it and haven't even touched a guitar in almost 6 months.

I don't think there's any downside to learning as many instruments as possible. If that's what you want to do then go for it. Just don't make the mistake I did and sell off almost all of your drum gear because you never know if you'll have another change-of-heart.

I don't know why someone should _switch_ from drum to guitar.
Maybe because drums completely don't work out for that specific person.