Improvement

Nehalem

Hello
This is my first post so if it is in an inappropriate section or you have suggestions regarding a more reasonable place to post my issue, please make yourself heard. I am having a bit of trouble and if you have advice to offer, please reply.
I am 16 and I started drumming a couple of months ago. Unfortunately, I live far from any drumming instructors so I have had to improvise. My problem is although I do practise regularly(this includes those dreaded rudiments) and I am enthusiastic about it, I have reached a certain point and I am no longer progressing. I am beginning to lose interest because I am forced by my lack of creativity to play the same things over and over. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to improve without being able to read music and without having access to an instructor.

Thanks

Hi Nehalem and welcome!
You may have found yourself in a bit of a rut because you might have become so focused on all the rudiments, proper drum methods and all that rut, the whole thing's become a bit of a chore to you.
What I'd recommend is to include (probably at the end of your practice session) a short (or medium) amount of time where you just put on the headphones with your favorites songs and jam to them. That brings back the fun in the whole concept! As each week progresses, you can keep on the lookout for different songs that you may want to jam to, that would keep your jam time fresh.
It helps as well as being fun because it strengthens your stamina, improves on your timing (especially if you can put a click track or metronome into the mix somehow), and toughens up your limbs (particularly when they all get moving in different rhythms and you just sit there and watch!).
Anyway, hope this helps!