Snare drum overtones rings

kinder

Hello everyone, im kinda new here.
So i bought a Remo BLack Suede Black X snare drum skin, cause my old "default" skin was horrible and was giving tons of rings and overtones. After i changed it i was expecting a nice damped sound form it. But i got really small diferences. I already tried folding a little square of tape and taping it on the side of the snare drum and got no different at all. The best sound i can get is putting cloth on top of it, but that takes off alot of the bounce i need. I also tried tunning it and i don't know if i actually tunned it right cause im kinda new to this whole thing. Even tho i know the overtone/ring will be good tomorow in the concert in an open space with the guitars and everything, the musics we are gonna play have alot of "me" time, where i basicly use ALOT of the snare, i mean alot. And i need a really good sounding snare. I need to fix it as fast as possible, i already tried alot of things and non worked. I have no money to buy moongel or any other type of equipment. I still have my old, basicly full plastic skin, but i dont know how to cut it to make a ring, and if all the things i tried didnt work, i dont know if im gonna get a whole better sound with just the ring.
Snare: 14"x 5 1/2" Metal Snare Drum

Welcome to the board.

All snare drums, and all drums for that matter, will produce some sort of tone and overtone. There are a few attributes that you can change (pitch), a few that you can mitigate (decay), but overall, a drum will sound like it sounds.

You're going to get a lot of recommendations for trying different tension combinations, snare tensions, dampeners, mic positions, etc.... Before you get too deep down the rabbit hole, I have a good recommendation....