I think I might have been practicing wrong for a long time..

apechto

So I have been playing for about 6 years now. And right now I am realizing how bad I am. I can't keep a steady beat at a slow tempo and my foot is still weak. What happens a lot during my playing is that I end up sitting at my kit, thinking that maybe I just wasn't meant to play drums. It seems I never make any progress. Now I have only "seriously" been playing for the past 2 years. Or so I thought, because now reflecting on it, I would usually practice maybe 4 times a week for an hour, and through all those practice sessions, it never seemed like I was getting better. What am I doing wrong? I feel really lost because It now feels like I don't enjoy playing anymore. It feels like a chore. Whenever I'm not playing, I always wish to be playing, but I sit down and get frustrated and give up. I'm sorry if this seems like I'm just rambling. I need help.

I've also been playing for 6 years, and realised I couldn't keep time very well. What I started to do is practise to a metronome (if you have a smartphone there are loads of free ones that can be downloaded). Also, if you never meant to play drums then you wouldn't still be playing.
As for bass drum work, experiment with different techniques, find one that is comfortable, and stick to that, and play something simple at say 120bpm, then as you feel comfortable, bump it up by 5 or 10bpm. I use a combination of the Heel-Toe and Slide technique for my right foot, and Heel up for my left (double pedals). I found that a few months after getting double pedals (got them in January) my right foot had improved loads.
Don't be so hard on yourself. I'm only a year younger than you, I felt the same way as you do now, but then realised that if I don't think positively than nothing will be achieved. When you get frustrated, watch you favourite comedian, or do something that makes you laugh, then try again.