Nose in the corner

THC

I've been looking at a LOT of kit pics recently looking for mounting ideas and I've noticed that there's a fair amount of people who have their kits, what I would consider, flipped around and are facing directly into the wall.

The obvious reason for this to me is it's much easier to access and sit at the throne, versus snaking in behind a forward facing kit. But other than that small convenience, is there a more obvious reason for this that I'm missing?

~peace

I'd be intrested to know who does that and why as well. To me there would be too much sound bouncing right back in my face. I think the getting around behind the kit is the main reason, but then shouldn't one just slide it a bit further from the wall? Plus, I'm not a big fan of people sneaking up behind me, so that makes it a "will not do" for me. :)

I have been playing since 1970 and I have never set up a kit facing a wall!
I don't see how anyone could do that.
Forget about the sound and all that, Who wants to look at a wall as you play?

I have my practice kit set up nosed into the wall for space considerations. But my 'office' is small and trying to keep the kit away from the wal so I can get in behind it takes up too much space. Apart from the kick, the drums sound fine, and the kick is actually pretty nice at that.

Bermuda

I have an e-kit facing the wall. Otherwise I'd use up extra space so my elbows wouldn't hit the wall, which can otherwise be part of the room's open space. Actually, if I faced the other way the kit would be in the way of the TV.

If I had a large space I'd definitely face outwards. I never consciously thought of this before.

I think the basic reason is space and ease of mounting the throne. I just can't imagine what the bass drum must sound or not sound like.

That's kinda what I figured. Most of the kits I've seen that are wall facing are in pretty cramped quarters

Here's just a few I saw here on this site in the Show off your Tama thread.