comparing two new sets, Ludwig or DW?

kill

*spoiler alert/time saver* (very long winded post about comparing two drum sets for purchase, details of two sets near bottom of post)

Hi, everyone. I'm new here. You all will probably be happy to know that when I googled "best drummer forum", drummerworld was the top result. :)
Typically, I just lurk when I do my information gathering on the web. But at this point, I may need to do the opposite.
For the record, I've been quietly researching a bunch over these last few weeks. But I need to ask a few questions. I'm about to buy a brand new drum set (shell pack, no snare). I'm not an expert. I decided to buy a good quality new American made set. I haven't had a chance to talk to an uninvolved party about my choices. Just the salesman at the store. Frankly, he seems friendly and helpful, but I'd still like to hear more opinions if at all possible.

I wish Slingerland still made drums. ...would be nice to finally scratch that itch from childhood. I still remember the smell of the brand new set I dreamily admired over the course of many weeks in my local music shop. Same as this set, even same color:
nco46b.jpg

Not sure if it was the potent cocktail of fumes gassing off that beautiful new yellow drum set, or just my deep instinctive caveman lust for those drums, but something made me dizzy when I looked at them. OK, back to now.
I also had considered Gretsch, of course. In fact, I almost bought a set of Brooklyns, as Gretsch recently had a 25% off coupon that was working at Guitar Center.
Bringing my situation fully up to date, I had recently officially decided on Ludwig Legacy Classics. Being over 40, I've had many years to dream of owning a Ludwig set.