Why play drums?

J

JohnoWorld

I've been playing for about 25 years but at the moment, I don't see many kids taking up the drums in my area, but then I think, why would they?

You need:

-A detached house or your own studio or neighbours that don't complain
-A car
-physically fit (to lug all that gear around)
-good concentration span
-dedication to a boring practice regime
-a good ear
-good time
-natural flair
-a good cash supply (to pay for sticks, heads and all the kit that you need)

etc etc

What I am saying is, what can be done to make drums more attractive for people to start?

I look at this list and if I wasn't already a drummer, I wouldn't consider it at all, would you?

I am of course in England where outrage is a sport. Making noise as a drummer, I have constantly been in dispute with neighbours, despite doing everything I can to play at agreed times. Maybe in other countries it is different

Practice on an E-kit or use silent stroke heads and quiet cymbals.

Most have a car anyway, but I didnt have my first kit till I was 24 cos that when I could afford my first car. Some things havn't changed.

I use lightweight hardware and make more trips to the car.

Concentration and practice goes for any instrument. I dont find it boring cos I tend to play, not practice, and it ends up being the same thing as I work on new, to me, grooves and fills.

Not all drummers have natural flair, only the gifted. You could practice 10 hours a day for 10 years and have great teachers but still not be a "Natural"

Sticks and heads cost me far less than the guy who goes out partying 3 nights a week.

Its a bout desire. What makes people train to become great marathon runners when its much easier to sit and eat biscuits and drink tea? Desire.

Its a bout desire. What makes people train to become great marathon runners when its much easier to sit and eat biscuits and drink tea? Desire.