Overlaying straight eighths with dotted-eighth-sixteenths

EuphGuy

I'm a beginner and I have several basic grooves down to the point where I can - and do - do them in my sleep. I'd like yo learn a basic song that I can jam and experiment with, and based on most of the sheet music I've looked at, it seems like learning the technique in the subject would open a lot of doors for me.

As such, I've been reviewing this:

http://www.drumscore.com/help/terms...16-dotted-8th-over-straight-8th-hand-exercise

Thinking about the two lines simultaneously seems impossible, but if I combine the two lines in my head (rhythmically), the exercises are a breeze to play. This makes me wonder if I'm "cheating" in a sense and not really building true limb independence.

So my question is, is it standard practice to think about each line 100% independently, or combine them to get the resulting rhythm?

I do have a teacher, but I don't see him until Saturday and I'm impatient :)

Thanks!

Just practice reeeeaaaaaallllllllyyyyy slow without a metronome. Think the whole thing in 16th and look at it this way. :
Right by itself, space, both hands, left by itself, space , etc etc. (Random example).
Do that for a while and speed it up gradually. You 'll be able to hear both rhythms after a while and "switch " from one to the other in your head.
Here is a good example of it

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=2M-3z0vG3zg

I don't think he could find a drummer that could do it at the time some he put it on a drum machine.

The better my (limited) independence gets the more I believe its not true independence, its actually learning combos and sticking patterns which you can call upon in different situations.
With that in mind, learn the combined rhythm/sticking pattern first, then once your body can play that, start to isolate the different patterns in your mind.