Is solo drumming music?

Re: IS SOLO DRUMMING MUSIC?

You don't think it is? Before I respond to your view, I need a little personal backing of why and how you don't think its music. The only reason I am asking you this is because you are in for a world of hurt if you don't know what your talking about.

First off... do you know how to read music?

You don't think it is? Before I respond to your view, I need a little personal backing of why and how you don't think its music. The only reason I am asking you this is because you are in for a world of hurt if you don't know what your talking about.

First off... do you know how to read music?

no, I don't read music. I started playing drums 30 years ago but mostly local bands, never a touring band. I consider solo drumming just that, solo drumming. If you can tell me why it's music I'm all ears. Please be gentle! :)

no, I don't read music. I started playing drums 30 years ago but mostly local bands, never a touring band. I consider solo drumming just that, solo drumming. If you can tell me why it's music I'm all ears. Please be gentle! :)

an art of sound in time that expresses ideas and emotions in significant forms through the elements of rhythm, melody, harmony, and color.

Definition of music.

A drum solo includes all of that

This gets argued all the time. Personally, I don't care if drum solo stuff meets somebody's technical definition of music or not. Whether it is or isn't doesn't make it any less cool and fun to watch or play, for me anyway. And yeah, I think it can be music.

I don't see why its not music. Why is a guitar by itself considered music anymore than drums?

It can be. If it is just playing really complicated drum patterns and showing off your skill (which is what most solo drumming is anyway) then no I do not consider it music. However, if a drummer constructs a solo in a musical way - in a way such that it sounds good, has dynamics, and has dynamic energy - then I would consider it musical.