Single bass metal drumming

drummingman

Gold Member
I've played double bass for as long as I have been a drummer. Being a drummer that plays in metal band's this has always pretty much been somewhat of a prerequisit. Metal, all styles, is my favorite music to listen to and play.

I was talking with a few drummer friends the other day. I have been pondering switching over to only playing single bass in metal to see how it would force me to approach the music in a different way. By default it would make me do things differently and make my mind approach parts that I write from a different perspective.

I honestly like turning convention on it's head. Being a single kick drummer in a metal band, especially styles like black and death metal, is almost unheard of. I currently play in a black metal band. So there is a good bit of double bass parts that I have written for our song's. It would be interesting to go back and reinterpret those parts in a single kick way.

Any who, just wondering what everyone's thoughts are on this topic. I find it to be a good one to chew the fat over!

Go for it.

I'm in two metal groups right now, one is in that post/proggy vein, and the other sludge and doom.

While I do use a double pedal, I'm not really running constant sixteenths. I mostly just use to add to fills and give a little flourish to accents. In all the songs from both bands, I doubt I have more than a minute of song sections using constant double pedal.

Part of this is because I broke my ankle in two spots on my off foot, and I've just never really got everything working right again. The other part is because I'm genuinely more interested in coming up with different ideas than the more typical/conventional double kick stuff. In my old (for metal) age, I find that I'm more bored by constant double kick when once upon a time I would be impressed.