DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Technique

Drum Technique Tips - Tricks - Practice - Rudiments - Educational DVDs & Books.....

Old 07-11-2010, 04:51 AM

Default Need help and advice with strange single Bass problem!!

Hi everyone. This is my first post on this forum :) so far it is looking great.

So anyway, I have been playing drums for about a year and a half now and its been like a dream. I play right-handed.
Since I am into the "metal" genre of music, I was convinced into purchasing a double bass pedal a few months after starting to play drums.
(I have a Gibraltar Avenger)
Ever since I got the double kick pedals, I have been working on my double bass skills for a few months and I managed to get my speed up to 200bpm for a few minutes.

However, last month i noticed that if I try to play on just the single pedal, I feel unbalanced and out of control. I am unable to play relatively simple rhythms and beats with the right foot.

For example:
I find it difficult to play 8th notes at a moderate tempo (120bpm+) for 1 minute. It feels like I am about to fall forward, so I lose control of the situation.

I am also unable to play things like decent triplets with the right foot. they usually sound weak and out of time. Sometimes my leg feels like it refuses to play a beat or two. -_- sign...

While all this is going on, my left leg seems to have much more control than the right if I play it individually. It is able to play the beats mentioned above cleanly, with a decent amount of power and control.

I could also play double bass at quick speeds reaching up to 210bpm. -Seems odd?

So recently, I have been trying to work on my right leg individually, without playing any double bass and it seems to be improving slightly.