DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Technique

Drum Technique Tips - Tricks - Practice - Rudiments - Educational DVDs & Books.....

Old 04-04-2010, 06:33 PM

Default Live problems

Hello there all, my first post on the forum now!
I've been playing now for a good 4 years, i dont think im excellent, but i'm at an okay standard! anyway, i've been playing live with various bands for a few years now, probably played around 30 shows but ive noticed that the past year with my new band, that i have problems when playing live. I get very tense, and become tired after only the first song, i tense up a lot and find it more difficult to play, and because of this it affects my confidence and i may 'play it safe' which obviously i dont want to do. i find my wrists get tired quickly and as do my arms. I think it may be a case of warming up, or stretches, or just nerves, can anybody offer any advice?
Old 04-05-2010, 03:08 AM

Default Re: Live problems

Is this a new band that you just starting playing with recently? If so, that's TOTALLY normal... If you are like me, you'll have in the back of your mind, "I hope they think I'm good enough", "I hope I'm not 'pissing them off'".

It's a confidence issue and will be solved by practicing like an animal... Get to the point where you know the songs like the back of your hand, even if you have a poor monitor setup.

Confidence is EVERYTHING in live performances! It allows you to "feel" the music more and spend less time tense and worrying about just "getting through it".

When you fatigue quickly, you are closing your hands too tight on the sticks due to nerves and not "laying back". Concentrate on breathing... Don't hit the drums hard... Just stay loose... You'll know it when that happens... You'll be able to play for HOURS without even sweating... It's a really cool feeling once you get there...

Hope that helps!!
Old 04-05-2010, 03:24 PM