Snare drum help

Zodiak

Hello!

So I'm gonna buy a snare drum in a week, and I need your help. I have about $150-200, but since I'm in Russia, we don't really have all these cool deals, so drum stuff is a bit more expensive, but still... And unfortunately, I couldn't really find anything perfect, but I've found a couple of options. Could you please help me? And even though I'm not a complete newbie, I still don't know all that much about snare drums, so any help appreciated.

The first one is: http://www.muztorg.ru/cat/details/A006746

What do you think?...

And there's also a Mapex Black Panther Premium one, but it's 10x5 or something, very small, what does that mean?

I think I have enough for a Sonor or some kind of Yamaha, but are they good?

There's also a music store which is the official DW Drums dealer over here, do they have any good snares? I don't know anything about DW snares, what is the budget series called?

Well....

I no about good or bad snares but i dnt know what is avalible over is russia because i havn't been to russia lately.....lol

But i can surgest a black panther range (one of them is in my dp ^ ^ ) They are great snares for the price that you said take a look if you can get them over your's

Hope i have helped

tris

The snare drum in your link is from one of Tama's budget lines (lower end). Nothing special, but probably fine for general use. The 6 1/2 depth is usually used in rock music.

The 10x5 Mapex is a small drum. Usually, drums of this size are used as secondary snares, often mounted to the left of the hi-hat. It's generally not used as a primary snare unless you are putting together a jungle/dnb kit (small sizes).

The "standard" size snare is 14x5, and is pretty versatile for many kinds of music. But most important is finding a size that gives the sound you want.