DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 09-11-2015, 08:17 PM

Default Audition Anxiety

I'm in my second year of my university's jazz studies program. Every year at the start of school there are jazz ensemble auditions (big bands, vocal jazz etc) for the students to partake in. Basically, how it works for the drummers is that they go through a single audition, and then the faculty decides which jazz ensemble to put them in based on feel, ability to sight-read, etc.

In my first year I did it, I failed which is completely understandable, I didn't have much experience outside of my high-school jazz band and was never taught much about proper big band drumming.

But after that I worked my butt off by staying in practice rooms late at night, gigging as much as possible, buying several books on big band/sightreading, working with my private instructor particularly on big band drumming, went to see a lot of live jazz and pubs/restaurants where they host jam sessions and I also joined a community big band and wind ensemble outside of school. However, despite all that I once again failed to make it into any ensembles this year.