VST Drumming (Share opinions, howtos, knowledge and discussions)

tolgapala

Anybody interested in vst drumming in this forum? Please post anything from your works, experiences, knowledge and questions to advices and tips&tricks.

VST - Virtual Studio Technology. :) to be more precise I would like to share any kind of knowledge about electronic drumming and edrumming related issues, recording&editing electronic drums, midi drumming, drums plugins (fxpansion's bfd, toontrack's dfh superior, native instrument's battery etc), home recording, professional recording gimmicks, all sorts of gear, protools, ableton live, cubase tips&tricks and so on...

I'm just getting into this in a big way. I currently trigger BFD2 from my Roland TD-12. The sound quality from the wav. files just blows the Roland native sounds out of the water. BFD2 is loaded on my mac.

I am considering taking my mac out of the loop and getting Muse's Receptor. That's really the most reliable method of using this stuff live.

I am new to this so any input on this would be appreciated.

hey there!

it is really nice to have some sort of feedback to the thread so that i don't feel alone any more. :)

it is true that fxpansion's bfd and toontrack's dfh superior blows the native samples of not only the td12 even the td20 or lets say all trigger modules of any manufacturer in the market.

that kind of software (namely bfd2) has some sort of a very powerful software engine to make all the calculations of the dynamics of the sample to be triggered so that's why you will need a decent performance in both your computer and your sound card to be able to cope with realtime acoustic dynamics of the instrument and the playing physicality of the drummer.

i understand you are a mac user so it shouldn't be a problem for you but for myself i needed an upgrade of my entire hardware so now i am using a core 2 duo 2,33MHz pc with 2gigs of 800MHz ram on a quad core supported mainboard with a 1333MHz FSB.