How do you feel during your drum lessons?

KathrynL

Probably a weird post here. Just wondered how other people felt before and during their drum (or any music) lesson. I'm 47. I've been doing lessons for 3 years and I still feel nervous before I go in and quite often get really confused and a bit panicky during a lesson when I don't 'get' what my teacher is talking about. I've had 2 teachers. One 20 years younger. One ten years older. Both really nice guys and I think they're really good teachers. I never have to perform long/whole pieces of music if I don't want to. Both know I get anxious about stuff and don't unnecessarily pressure me. I know this is to do with my personal psyche and I'm working on my confidence in all areas of my life but I'm interested in what others feel during lessons. Maybe the ideal scenario I have in my head where one just breezes through every lesson, laughing all the way and feeling completely uninhibited, ready to do anything, is just totally unrealistic. (Do you reckon??)

Anyway, just asking. Because I don't know any other (adults) learning. Cheers.

The fact you feel nervous shows you care, just go with it.
Always recall you paid for your lesson and so its kind of a service to you. You are the customer so try not to feel like the disadvantaged one in the deal. If not getting something, just ask for more attention, or for the same material to be delivered at a slower pace and/or repeated. You have every right to, because you are asking to be taught and paying for it.
What you want to beware of and take under control is if panic or nerves are getting in the way of your drumming.. the joy and fun of it. Ease up on yourself.

When I took lessons, at a similar age to yours, FWIW, my teacher was in a studio literally 30 seconds walk from my work. The counter productive thing for me was that I would sit down at the kit with a head full of work.