First gig, nervous

southpark

Hey everyone. I'm an amateur drummer that has been invited to play with a band whom I jammed with a few times (some of the members) and we will be jamming once a week for a couple hours until maximum September (when most of the members will be going abroad). By then we are expected to play live and record a demo. I am terrified. I love playing more than anything, and I am extremely excited about the jams, but horrified at the idea of recording, and playing live. I am the most amateur player in the band compared to all others. Here are some things that are bothering me:

1) The audience will most likely be quite small. I can't decide if I would feel more nervous with a smaller or larger audience. In any case, I will be nervous. Also, I live in a small country, and the rock/metal community is even smaller, and I expect I might see some people in the audience I will know. I also cannot decide whether or not playing in front of strangers is more nerve wrecking than playing in front of acquaintances.

2) When to begin a song? For some reason, I find it a little annoying and repetitive when people hit the sticks before every song, and when they don't and I can't seem to detect any cue of an auditory or visual countdown, I always wonder... how the hell do they do it?! Whenever I jammed with anyone and they sort of nodded their heads to start or said "Let's start", I never really knew... when to start. I was talking to my boyfriend about this (who's also a drummer and has played live countless times) and he told me that the more I play with them the more used to their timing I will get, and sooner or later our "inner clocks" will synchronize. Makes perfect sense, but what if......... BLAAAAAA there's always the what if. No one wants to start a song sloppily. This is all assuming the song is not started by only one instrument and picked up by the rest, but everyone starting simultaneously.