The Phenomenal Massimo Russo - Please Watch This

Jonathan Curtis

Silver Member
Hi all,

It brings me great pleasure to show you this. This is a very good friend of mine, Massimo Russo, with whom I studied in Vibo Valencia, Italy. This is his performance at the Nottingham Drum Fest last night, which I had the privilege to open for, record, and watch from the front row.

http://youtu.be/yTRhbw547aY

I implore you to watch the whole thing, as it's an absolute master class in latin drumming. He has studied extensively in latin percussion, as becomes abundantly clear in his solo in the middle. He is a rising star, and I'm certain he will go all the way. To top it off, he is a thoroughly nice person, and I'll be enjoying his company for dinner tomorrow night.

For those interested, my own performance opening for this show can be seen here: http://youtu.be/6K1M0DgsSJ4

Thanks all,
J

Wow, very nice and original, this guy certainly has something to say!

This is a very good friend of mine, Massimo Russo, with whom I studied in Vibo Valencia, Italy.

Sorry, I'm just curious: what did you study with Massimo Russo in Vibo Valentia? Music or drumming? Now, that would be really interesting: Vibo is certainly a nice place with an important and long history, but I would never had thought somebody would go there from England to study music or drumming!

Wow this guy is just so rhythmic! Very refreshing approach to the set. I don't have the stones to do a solo that long, but his was entertaining from front to back. Thanks for posting Jonathan

I studied drumming with him. I went over there for private tuition with him after seeing him at a clinic locally.