Music Institutes

JarodMaybern

I've been playing drums for 6 years now and I wouldn't consider myself bad in any means but I feel like I could be alot better if I just had some direction. So with that said, I've been thinking recently about going to Atlanta Institute of Music and studying percussion to further my playing abilities, but am a little sketchy about how the experience will be. I know it isn't gonna be bright skies and fun times the whole way, and I'm willing to grind myself to learn things on drums; But I don't want it to be an experience that will make me lose my passion for music. So, what I'm asking is (for those of ya'll who know about music as school): How was/is the experience for ya'll and would you recommend it for a self-taught drummer of six years?

I know the pro's out weigh the cons mostly but overall I don't want the experience to completely suffocate my passion for music (especially by over-assertive teachers), and would like a testimony from others on how the experience is/was, both good and bad.

All the help is appreciated.

I had a great experience at AIM and consider it the best of these kinds of places for drummers. The main percussion teachers are outstanding and the facilities are only 2 years old. Their state of the art recording facility is close to brand new. The quality of my colleagues was also very high. Never did I find the teachers suffocating, and all of them were gigging everywhere. There was nothing but encouragement. I was also allowed to keep certain things I hadn't planned changing, like my unorthodox traditional grip that several university profs had claimed they would correct if they ever got their hands on me. Most important, the student to teacher ratio was pretty small so you got a great deal of individual attention. To me this was the final selling point