Rack Issues

buzzbuzz

When I play out, I need to get on/off stage kinda quick. I used to have 7 cymbal stands but I went to a rack. I really like the rack. However, it's really heavy and bulky and hard to move. It is a Pearl curved icon rack and also includes a bar and a leg on the RH side. The front rack bar holds 3 toms and 3 cymbals. The side rack holds a ride cymabal and I have a cymbal coming out of the top of the far RH leg. And I attach a china to this cymbal arm also - hope that makes sense.

When I am tearing down, I take the cymbals off and fold the two major pieces of the rack toward one another and carry it off as they are connected. What would you do to make this more efficient/easier?

1. Leave as is.
2. Remove the side piece and replace with 2 cymbal stands.
3. Unattach the side piece from the front but then I would have to buy another leg a t-leg brace. Plus the new t-leg brace would be hard to place because of the existing t-leg brace on the front rack. I could buy a mini t-leg but would it topple over if I had a mini t-leg on one end of the stand-alone side rack?
4. What would be great is if there was a way I could unattach the side rack from the front rack without having to pull/thread it off of the top of the front rack leg - is there such a thing?

Thanks to all who took time reading this probably very confusing post. Any help is appreciated.

Attachments

• buzz_kit2.JPG
    buzz_kit2.JPG
    94.7 KB · Views: 954
I used to gig a Gibraltar rack until I got tired of carrying everything. Since then I've experimented mightily with stands and found that you can actually cram a lot more, with more stability, onto stands than you might think. It involves getting the right tripods, and being creative with how you clamp and fly toms and cymbals.

I look at your setup below and I think to myself, "Seven stands? I could do that with three (plus hi-hat and snare stands)".