DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 10-12-2012, 04:17 PM

Default moon gel

Sorry if this is in the wrong place or is a repeated item but could somebody explain to me exactly what the moon gel product does??? I have done a few searches and get the gist that it can be added and my dampen sounds etc but to what effect??.....

Complete beginner here so any experience would be appreciated.\
Cheers
roy
Old 10-12-2012, 04:33 PM
Gold Member

Default Re: moon gel

The effect depends on how much moon gel you put on the drum. You could have one piece you cut to a size, or you could have a massive ring on the head.
Old 10-12-2012, 04:41 PM
Platinum Member

You may have noticed high-pitched ringing or overtones coming from your snare or toms when you hit them. Or maybe they just sustain for days and you want a little shorter, chuffier sound. In the olden days people would use duct tape or other expedient means of muffling. Now Moongel has become popular. It's essentially the same stuff as those sticky hand string things you get in the bubblegum machines at the drug store, but in little squares. You attach it to the drumhead, adding more for taste, to eliminate ring or overtones that you can't seem to tune out of the drumhead.

Some like it, some don't; other people use studio rings (also called "Richie rings) to control overtones. With advances in drumhead technology as well as consistency in bearing edges, most overtones can be tuned out without much in the way of muffling. But Moongel represents a sort of shortcut to controlling those qualities of a drum.
Old 10-12-2012, 04:42 PM
Administrator - Mayor

The purpose of Moon Gel is to muffle and cut down on over tones.

Google Moon Gel and you should find a web site.
Old 10-12-2012, 04:43 PM