DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 10-05-2011, 07:10 PM

Default Do you avoid beat displacement - soundfile added, post #7

I have a little bit of a "condition" in my playing. I think it's because I studied a lot of Carter Beauford early on, but beat displacement just naturally finds it's way into my playing. I recently started playing a gig in IHOP-Atlanta (24/7 worship/prayer center). It's a 2-hr set and sometimes you're playing the same chord progression over and over for 20 min or more while folks are praying, so in order to keep it from getting too monotonous, some of my grooves have displayed significant beat displacement. We do play with a click, so theoretically the other instrumentalists should be ok, but I just got a recording of our set from last week and there are at least 5 places where my throwing the beat around causes a bit of a glitch in the flow.

Things like that stand out more when you listen back to it than when you're doing it live and you play it, and then the moment's gone.

Any advice on how to "keep it interesting" without throwing the beat around too much.

I'd share a sound file, but it's just over 2hrs long with no breaks, so the file's huge.

EDIT: Soundfile: http://soundcloud.com/joshvibert/ihop-intercession-9-25

Thanks!

Last edited by joshvibert; 10-06-2011 at 06:17 PM.
Old 10-05-2011, 09:01 PM
Platinum Member

Default Re: Do you avoid beat displacement in a group setting?

Interesting question!

Bottom line: if you're throwing off the band, you need to change what you're doing. Not every group can (or wants to) play like Mahavishnu!