DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 02-16-2015, 05:29 PM

Default hands getting beat up

I've been playing since '06 but I'm fairly new to gigging and full band practices and the intensity that comes with it. Been at it about 8 months. As we get better and better at the material and I play with more enthusiasm, I'm noticing my hands are really taking a beating. Blisters, sore fingers, a broken knuckle a few months back, and lately it's just been cuts and splits. One thumb seems to split every so often, and last night the other finally split. My index finger was opened up recently, and I have several little gashes from hitting the rims. It's starting to get pretty annoying. I even hit myself in the ear twice last night, but that's just my own fault for getting too loose..lol

Some of it might just be the weather getting more dry and I need to keep lotion on them, but is this normal? I also play on as many as 3 different kits in the same week, so i'm constantly having to adjust heights and things. I probably also have crap technique.

I think this is just mostly me complaining that my fingers hurt. Can I do that? Just complain to empathetic ears who may or may not validate my feelings with their own feelings or stories?
Old 02-16-2015, 05:56 PM
Platinum Member

Default Re: hands getting beat up

For the dry chapped skin on your index finger and thumb, use some nice generic lotion daily. I use Burt's Bees fragrance free Shea Butter and Vitamin E lotion.

For the soreness that comes with impact, I recommend working on technique.

For the bashing of knuckles into rims, I recommend Bob Newhart.
Old 02-16-2015, 05:57 PM
Gold Member

Some of the splitting could be the weather. I don't know. I have never had an issue with that.