DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 07-28-2014, 06:21 AM

Default Back pain while drumming

Ive been playing for 10 years and am in my mid 20s. Ive tried taking the necessary precautions to eliminate back pain in my mid back.ie good throne, posture, drum placement. But i had a idea. What if im having this pain because i play in my garage. I mean what if it is because i play on a slope. I have also had trouble in the past with my drum rack due to the stab being non level. Idk i didnt use to have this problem. Im only 24
Old 07-28-2014, 06:57 AM

Default Re: Back pain while drumming

how long has it been going on for?
Old 07-28-2014, 07:34 AM
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by BEAST View Post
I mean what if it is because i play on a slope. I have also had trouble in the past with my drum rack due to the stab being non level.
It would be easy to test your theory. Rotate you drum kit 180 degrees. Or 90 degrees. And see if your back still hurts.

Old 07-28-2014, 08:12 AM
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by BEAST View Post
Ive been playing for 10 years and am in my mid 20s. Ive tried taking the necessary precautions to eliminate back pain in my mid back.ie good throne, posture, drum placement. But i had a idea. What if im having this pain because i play in my garage. I mean what if it is because i play on a slope. I have also had trouble in the past with my drum rack due to the stab being non level. Idk i didnt use to have this problem. Im only 24
You need your stool to be level, the drums being un level are not that important, they can easily be leveled.

Work on leveling your stool first, you can do this with shims, or by removing a rubber foot or two if the tilt isn't too severe. Use a level on the stool top.