DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > General Discussion

General Discussion General discussion forum for all drum related topics. Use this forum to exchange ideas and information with your fellow drummers.

Old 02-06-2013, 02:53 AM

Default Teacher cancelling lessons

Just feeling like I need to vent and wondering if I'm overreacting.

I am a beginner and the first thing I did after I got my drums was find a teacher. This particular teacher owns a drum shop in my town and seems to be the only instructor anyone knows of around here (small town, sigh).

I called to find out if he had any open times available, pricing, etc. Went to my first lesson and paid for the month in advance as requested, and since then he has cancelled every week - including the days we have rescheduled.

After having him cancel on me today for the third week in a row, I asked if he could refund my money for the lessons I have not had and that we could try again some time when our schedules allow for it. Am I in the wrong doing that?

Feeling bummed out and frustrated. I am still spending time practicing on my own but really want to work with someone in person to give me some direction! I also can't be rescheduling my lessons every week, I work, go to school, and have kids. My time is valuable too!
Old 02-06-2013, 03:20 AM

Default Re: Teacher cancelling lessons

Doesn't sound unreasonable to me for you to ask for a refund. He is supposed to be the professional and in so should keep his appointments. Good luck on finding an instructor.
Old 02-06-2013, 03:23 AM
Platinum Member

That's the pits. I have two sides to my answer:

1) Of course you shouldn't have to put up with that. You're paying for a scheduled service and any court in the US would side with you if you needed to take it that far. How far in advance is he calling off the appointments?