Great tape to cover blisters

writer_drummer

I don't know what you drummers use to cover blisters. But I have recently found tape that works:

3M's Nexcare absolute waterproof tape

I would have uploaded a picture of this, but I had difficulties doing so.

At this writing, I have had it wrapped around my index and middle fingers for 3 days. And it looks like I have just put it on. If this, or something similar, is at your local drug or grocery store, get it.

I would have a teacher check your technique to find out why you are getting blisters. Shouldn't happen.

I've been using that for a few years to prevent blisters, works great! I buy the 6-pack from Amazon for $19 :)

Bermuda

I have been playing for probably 20 years cumulatively from back as a kid and for the last 9 years, and have never gotten a blister from drumming.

I have been playing for probably 20 years cumulatively from back as a kid and for the last 9 years, and have never gotten a blister from drumming.

Same here; been playing on and off for over 55 years and I have never suffered from blisters.......just lucky I suppose!

The ONLY time I ever got blisters from playing were when I used those God-awful Zildjian Dip drumsticks.

Never again.

I use Promark Stick Rapp now. I love that stuff.

Got most of my blisters in the early years when I was growing my callous gloves I wear today...they prevent most blisters.

As far as tape goes, I never really used anything. Just tore off the skin and played through it till it gave up hurting.

Suffered with them until I learned Moeller technique. Have some of the Ahead gloves that haven't been worn for 14 years.

I'd recommend Moeller to anyone, really sorts your hands out.

I can't use any stick with grip on it as the friction causes blisters. Over-varnished sticks as well, Regal Tip were bad for this about 15 years back.