Ludwig Classic Maple Vs Ludwig Vintage

ak0uz

hey, so i'm going to the states and i want to bring a drum kit with me. I've been playing drums for 10 years now, and basically i play classic rock, funk, jazz, etc etc. (styles that dont rquiere such a complex drum kit, just a basic 4/5 piece drum kit)... so i really want to buy a vintage ludwig drum kit, i'm thinking about a Vistalite drum kit, or some 4 piece Champagne sparkle drum kit... but i dont really know how to know when the drum kit is in good condition sound-wise. And on ebay i see a vintage drum kit that is sold for lets say $2000 and the same drum kit (similar kit) is sold by another person for $500.
Is it a good choice to buy a vintage drum kit? Is it a good drum kit to play live ?
Next year i'll be playing a couple of live shows in cool venues and i dont know if that kit can be used for that perpouses...
http://cgi.ebay.com/1967-Ludwig-Cha...820?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item45f01c060c
http://cgi.ebay.com/66-Ludwig-Keyst...=Vintgae_Drums_Percussion&hash=item4aa5381ce0

Another thing: It has come to my attetion, the Ludwig Classic Maple series, which are basically re issues of vintage drum kits. Has someone Played this drums ?
http://cgi.ebay.com/New-Ludwig-Clas...300?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item45f315eae4

Hi there...

Firstly - if you want a modern approximation of Vintage Ludwig drums - then you want to look to the Ludwig "Legacy Classic" series not the Classic Maples. The Legacy Classics are thin shelled with reinforcing rings just like the Ludwig drums of old. The Classic Maples are more modern with straight shells and sharper bearing edges etc...

As to the value of vintage kits - there are many many factors including how complete / original they are (all the way up to original heads), condition, finish, year of manufacture etc...