Starting to rethink floor tom legs

TColumbia37

Silver Member
I had an audition for a band the other night, and while I was loading up afterwards, I noticed that one of my leg brackets was cracked, and a second wasn't far from it. The third was already replaced with a stronger one before I got it, so I don't have to worry about that.

While setting up at home, I mounted my floor tom from a cymbal stand, using an 'L' rod as a temporary solution, until I got a new set of matching brackets. As soon as I started playing, the drum really started to sing in a way I have never heard before! It has the perfect resonance, now. I don't think I can ever go back to using standard legs.

I'm about to take my tom apart and pull the other two brackets off, and I'm going to paint the good one to match the rest of the hardware, as it is chrome, but the hoops and lugs are white. I had to do the same thing with my kick drum spurs after my old ones busted off. It actually turned out really well, and has held up so far.

Anyhow, does anybody have any suggestions on what I could use to fill the holes that will be left over from the old brackets? Maybe get some grommets and just turn them into vent holes? Maybe something a little more decorative?

Use plastic plugs that you can buy in an automotive shop. Thats what I used.
Use Rims mounts to support the toms and Tama makes an excellent low floor tom stand that will hold two floor toms.

Use Rims mounts to support the toms and Tama makes an excellent low floor tom stand that will hold two floor toms.

Good suggestions from Bob. If you can place your cymbals where you want, mounting ft's works pretty well.

I use those Pearl suspension feet and mine resonate great, but depending on your ft's, hanging might be a better option. Get a good stand though--you can't cheap out on that.
I had a 16x16 with a RIMS, on a Yamaha stand for a few years and it held nicely. It didn't droop on me. The Tama should be just as sturdy.