I have some questions

JacoFett

Hi, I'm new to drummerworld and i have been playing the drums since January this year. I like all kinds of metal and some rock but am willing to learn everything i can. I go to lessons once a week at school and am also trying to get private lessons.
Questions:
What are some beginner double bass songs?
How do i build speed with both my hands and feet?
What are some good drum lessons for metal or double bass on youtube?
How can i play double bass evenly using the floating technique? (because i can only play double bass evenly if i do heel-up)
I only get to play around 2-3 times a week, so how do i improve fast only playing that much a week?
Would you recommend the Drumming System 2.0?
What is a rim shot?
What are mute stokes?
What are polyrythms?
What is the correct way to hit a cymbal?
When do i know when i need a new drum head?
I hope you can answer these questions it would be a big help to me. :)

Last edited:
Hi and welcome to the forum.

Things like rimshot, polythythm can be found via Google. (Honestly I think that's the kind of homework one could expect people to do _before_ posting on a forum, but maybe that's just my opinion.)

I have the original version of the Drumming System, can't judge on the 2.0. I think the orig. system it's not bad, you can learn a lot from it. However, if you have a clear idea of what you want to learn you don't really need it. It's great to use it as an encyclopedia type tutorial to get familiar with various styles (although superficially at times) but if you're primarily into metal you could do without it.

The more you practice the better you get, it's simple. So having a reduced amount of time means you have to maximize your time and practice as efficiently as possible. But even then, depending on your (limited) time you're putting in, it might take a while to get comfy at higher speeds hand and foot wise.