Guide to Playing in Jazz Combo

tallan

I'm a self taught drummer that cannot read sheet music and have no formal knowledge of Jazz theory, form, song structure, etc. I'm playing in Jazz Combo for the first time and have already been embarrassed/interrogated about details on the sheet music. So I need to get up to speed on all of these terms, important markings, and other things.

Just wondering if anyone knows of any good study material for a person in this position. I'm finding it pretty hard to find anything. Not looking for material teaching drum grooves, patterns, fills, etc. And not looking for material teaching chord progression, scales, etc. Not looking for hitorical material about Jazz lefgends. Just want be able to understand what the combo instructor tells me, and to know what to do, and when from looking at shhet music (not drum charts).

Unfortunately, there's really nothing else you can do, but get some sheet music, and start reading it. If you studied piano, not only would that be good, but everything you're wanting to know, would be covered there. You need to put in the time reading like everybody else.

I'm a self taught drummer that cannot read sheet music and have no formal knowledge of Jazz theory, form, song structure, etc. I'm playing in Jazz Combo for the first time and have already been embarrassed/interrogated about details on the sheet music. So I need to get up to speed on all of these terms, important markings, and other things.

Just wondering if anyone knows of any good study material for a person in this position. I'm finding it pretty hard to find anything. Not looking for material teaching drum grooves, patterns, fills, etc. And not looking for material teaching chord progression, scales, etc. Not looking for hitorical material about Jazz lefgends. Just want be able to understand what the combo instructor tells me, and to know what to do, and when from looking at shhet music (not drum charts).