DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM   

Go Back   DRUMMERWORLD OFFICIAL DISCUSSION FORUM > Drum Gear

Drum Gear Reviews and Discussions of Drums - Pedals - Cymbals - Sticks - Heads - Electronic Drums

Old 03-12-2015, 06:30 PM

Default Back to drumming after several years... "I suck!"

Hey Fellow drummers, I'm new to Drummerworld here but scrolling thru as a guest and reading, I've found that there are tons of experience and knowledge here by other musicians and it's great to be able to talk "drums" with others in the know.
I played drums for about 10 years and then took about a 12 year break from it after getting married, raising a family etc... Priorities first you know?..anyway, my question is have any of you taken such a long break from drumming as this and what was your playing like when you started back?.. Ill be the first to admit.. I suck bad! My technique is awful, my timing is awful, and it's almost like starting all over again and learning from scratch. I know what I want to play in my head but everything is so off! I'm afraid I'm slowly losing interest in drumming because of it... Any of you (old timers) gone thru this?.. Did you have the same issues? Thanks for your responses in advance and again, it's great to find so many knowledgable drummers in one place!
Old 03-12-2015, 06:40 PM
Silver Member

Default Re: Back to drumming after several years... "I suck!"

I played an acoustic kit in my late teens to early 20's. Quit when life happened and after a 30 year break (I'm 57), got back into drumming... with an E-Kit.

For me, over all those years, I kind of had in my head doing drum stuff, so mentally I was staying in time, listening to fills, tearing apart song structure. Tap things out in the steering wheel or my desk.